Friends, Trips

Weekend Trip to Charlotte, NC

One of my best friends from USC, Madison, was accepted to the Teach for America program and is moving to Hawaii at the end of the month. So, I went to visit her in Charlotte, NC this past weekend with two of my other friends, Amanda and Taylor.

We woke up pretty early Saturday morning and started the day bargain shopping at Goodwill. Madison bought several children’s books for her classroom, Amanda found a few books and movies for her own personal collection, and I bought a short, wool business skirt.

Next, we went to lunch at Portofino’s Italian Restaurant, where I got the linguini primavera with broccoli, mushrooms, spinach, tomatoes, and peas. My pasta was amazing, and I can’t wait to eat the leftovers at work tomorrow!

After lunch, we went strawberry picking at Hall Family Farm in Ballantyne. This was by far my favorite part of the weekend! We each picked a pound of strawberries, drank delicious strawberry and peach slushies, raced through the maze, and climbed on a couple huge tractor tires. I also bought some homemade apple butter for my mom and grandmother since Mother’s Day is coming up, and Amanda fell in love with an adorable strawberry-shaped cream and sugar set (I’m going to try to find a similar set to give her for her birthday or Christmas this year).

IMG_7320 IMG_7326 IMG_7285

We ended the day with dinner from Sushi 101, homemade mini cheesecakes with chocolate and strawberries, and an exciting game of Phase 10 (a card game modeled after Liverpool Rummy). As nerdy as it may be, the girls and I are a little obsessed with this game, and we tend to get pretty competitive.

IMG_7329

This morning, Madison and her mom made cream cheese croissants with a vanilla glaze, brown sugar-coated bacon, and scrambled eggs with cheese. I didn’t eat the bacon since I’m a pescetarian, but everything else was absolutely wonderful!

IMG_7330

Not long after brunch, it was time for us to get on the road (I had at least 5 hours of driving ahead of me). Surprisingly, not a single one of us cried as we said goodbye to Madison. Instead, we found ourselves laughing and recalling stories of when we all met freshman year. I know I’m going to miss Madison while she’s living halfway around the world, but I also know that she is going to do extraordinary things through the Teach for America program and that our friendship is more than strong enough to handle the distance. Plus, now I have a legitimate excuse to splurge on a trip to Hawaii!

Leave a Reply

