Bucket List

Bucket List ~ Update

It’s been a month and a half since I posted my Spring and Summer Bucket List, and I figure it’s time for me to reflect on my progress so far and give y’all an update!

1.  Attend a music festival

About two weeks ago, I bought my ticket for Bonnaroo, and I got my wristband, bandana, lunch box, and instruction manual in the mail a few days ago. I’m pretty sure I’m driving my coworkers insane, because it seems like I haven’t been able to talk about anything other than Bonnaroo ever since I bought my ticket. I’m going to the festival with two of my best friends (Amanda and Colleen) and some other friends from college that I haven’t seen in a couple years. Phoenix, Cage the Elephant, CHVRCHES, Skrillex, Grouplove, Hunter Hunted, and Zedd are a few of the artists I am most excited to see. It’s going to be four days of great music and amazing friends (both old and new), and I cannot wait!

IMG_7646    IMG_7669

2.  Complete 3 projects from Pinterest

In the spirit of preparing for Bonnaroo, I completed my first Pinterest project – I made two pairs of cut-off jean shorts (pictured below). I am debating adding lace to one pair as shown here. For my second and third projects, I plan on making a flower headband (another item I’ll use at Bonnaroo) and patching up some holes in a pair of my jeans with lace.

IMG_7626    IMG_7630

3.  Cook 3 meals from my family recipe box

I am not going to lie – I have been putting this item off since I don’t have the best track record when it comes to cooking. Unfortunately, I only have 3 months left, so I need to get started soon!

4.  Donate blood

I have researched places I can go to donate blood in the area, but I haven’t actually gotten up the courage to go yet.

5.  Finish a 5K (without walking)

I have been trying to run no less than 3 times a week, and I always run at least a mile. I recently started cycling as well in the hopes of increasing my endurance without pushing too hard and potentially injuring myself. The longest distance I’ve run without walking so far is 2 miles, so I’m almost 2/3 there!

6.  Get certified in coastal sailing

My mom is attending a conference in Orlando in June, and my dad decided it’d be fun to turn the trip into a family vacation. While there, my dad and I are going to take a coastal sailing course. I was nervous about being able to cross this item off of my list, so I’m excited to have a plan in place for completing it!

7.  Jump the wake on my wakeboard

I’ve only been able to go to the lake once in the past month and a half, but I’ll be going back next weekend for Memorial Day. I am nowhere close to jumping the wake yet, but I definitely haven’t gotten worse since last summer.

IMG_7462

8.  Learn to speak Spanish

I have Rosetta Stone, but I haven’t started using it yet. I’m hoping to start the first lesson sometime this week.

9.  Lose 25 pounds

Of the items on my bucket list that I have started working towards completing, this is by far the most challenging. I have significantly improved my eating habits, and I have been working out pretty consistently. I feel healthier and can tell that my clothes are fitting better, but I have only lost 5 pounds so far. I am definitely going to continue working towards my goal of losing 25 pounds by the time I start medical school, but I need to keep in mind that weight is just a number. My overall health is what’s most important, and I do not need to be disappointed or discouraged if I don’t lose all 25 pounds as long as I am improving in my overall health.

10.  Pay off the interest on my student loans

Although I haven’t made any payments on my loans yet, I have made a budget for the summer which includes paying off the interest by early August.

2 thoughts on “Bucket List ~ Update”

Leave a Reply

