Health, Running

A Month Dedicated to My Health

Although I’ve made some significant positive changes to my diet and exercise routine over the past 12 weeks, there is still a lot of room for improvement. Therefore, I have decided to dedicate the month of July to bettering my health and picked three tasks to focus on in order to help me get there. My hope is that by the end of the month, eating well and working out will be so ingrained in my routine that I will have no problem continuing those habits as medical school starts.

GoodBelly 12-Day Challenge

I’ve always had digestive issues, but lately they seem to have gotten worse. I did some research and found the GoodBelly 12-Day Challenge. Drinking one serving of their dairy-free probiotic juice every morning for 12 days is supposed to restore your body’s healthy bacteria and help with both stomach and intestinal problems. I started the challenge this morning and am optimistic about it so far. I’ll post about my overall experience at the end of the 12 days.

Button Down Dash (5K)

I finally found a 5K to do – the Button Down Dash on August 2 in Gwinnett County. I was doing a great job working out at the beginning of the summer but started not doing so well during the month of June. Now that I only 32 days to prepare, it’s time for me to get back into a good routine. I looked at a couple different couch-to-5K programs and made my own schedule to get me ready to run 3.1 miles by race day! This task will not only do a lot to help improve my health, but it will also involve crossing another item off of my Spring & Summer Bucket List.

Lose 15 Pounds

Training for a 5K should help a lot in terms of accomplishing this last goal, but I’m also going to do my best to eat a well-balanced yet budget-friendly diet. I plan on logging my meals on the MyFitnessPal app and weighing in 2-3 times each week to track my progress. If I am able to lose 15 pounds during the month of July, I should have no problem crossing “lose 25 pounds” off my Bucket List by August 18 as well!

1 thought on “A Month Dedicated to My Health”

Leave a Reply

