Family, Trips

Happy 4th of July!

Every summer, my aunts, uncles, cousins, parents, siblings, nephews, and I come together at our family lake house in Modoc, SC to celebrate the 4th of July. This holiday has always been one of my favorites, and I look forward to it from the moment the weather gets warm every year.

IMG_0813

Each day starts out with my dad cooking breakfast for everyone who’s hungry. Normally, I take my eggs over medium (heavily seasoned with pepper, of course) and served in a bowl with a hefty portion of cheese grits. This year, I decided to change things up and request a vegetarian omelet instead. One morning my omelet was served with a side of well-done hashbrowns “smothered and covered” (like at Waffle House, but better), and the next morning, I had my omelet with my usual side of grits.

After breakfast, we sit on the porch drinking coffee before lathering ourselves up with sunscreen and heading down to the dock. Then, we spend the day swimming, tubing, wakeboarding, sailing, and kayaking – only taking breaks to eat lunch, drink some beer, or reapply sunscreen.

We usually grill hamburgers, hot dogs, steaks, or fish for dinner and eat around 7:00 pm before going on one last boat ride as the sun sets over the lake. We normally discover a fireworks display or two, then head back to the house for a competitive game of Chicken Foot or Liverpool Rummy.

 IMG_0999

There are a lot of strong personalities among the members of my family, so things often become pretty hectic (sometimes even heated) when you throw us all in a house together. However, it’s always apparent that we care for and love each other very deeply, and we wouldn’t want to spend our holidays any other way. The weekend we spend at Clarks Hill Lake celebrating the 4th of July is one of the few times during the year that I get to see all of my siblings and much of my extended family on my mother’s side, and I can’t imagine us gathering at a better place.

1 thought on “Happy 4th of July!”

  1. You have so beautifully shared the Brown family dynamics. A common heritage is so important to all of those who share the legacy. Thanks for sharing your observations.

Leave a Reply

