Thankful Thursday

Thankful Thursday ~ March 2016

You’d think I’d be used to how quickly time passes after a year and a half of being in medical school, but yet again, I find myself shocked that another month has come and gone. That being said, today is the last day of March whether I’m ready or not. It’s also the last Thursday of the month, meaning it’s time for another Thankful Thursday post!

  1. I am grateful for how understanding my family is of my busy schedule and my inability to come home as often as I’d like. My parents and siblings are extremely supportive of my career goals and fully respect how much time and effort getting a medical degree takes; therefore, they do everything in their power not to pressure me to come home if my schedule does not allow for me to do so without sacrificing my education.
  2. I am thankful for social media, email, texting, other messaging apps, skype, and facetime, which have made it relatively easy for me to stay in touch with my friends and family despite the fact that we are all on different schedules and live hundreds to thousands of miles apart.
  3. I am grateful for the opportunity to do my 3rd year rotations with Geisinger in Scranton, PA. Over the past few months, GA-PCOM has been implementing several changes to our curriculum and within our clinical education department, resulting in a lot of confusion and disorder throughout the school. Fortunately, Kevin, Nima, Shuchi, and I were selected to do our clinical rotations in Scranton with some students from the PA campus. This will not only give us a break from dealing with the currently disorganized GA campus faculty and staff, but also allow us the chance to start networking in the NE in preparation for residency interviews.
Leave a Reply

